Meet the Speaker — Alley Lyles-Jenkins

Women In Tech Summit
3 min readSep 28, 2022

Alley Lyles-Jenkins is a Principal, Product Innovation at Slalom Consulting. Her session at the WITS Fall 2022 Virtual Summit is AI’s Half Life in eSports.

  • Why is speaking at WITS important to you? WITS events have been enjoyable for me as a speaker and attendee. I filled my schedule with panels related to technology’s business and technical aspects. I appreciate that the programming is diverse in its approach to the topics covered under the Tech umbrella.
  • What or who inspires you?
  • What inspires me: The advancements associated with DALL*E, the AI system that creates realistic images and art from natural language descriptions, are astounding. There are implications for content, advertising, and investment opportunities. Dall*E’s ease of use and scalability question how we approach content creation and dissemination. For example, “Why spend $100,000 on a single television commercial targeting millions of people when, with the same budget, an advertiser will create 10,000 different commercials, each tuned to a cluster of like-minded viewers at the moment?”
  • Who Inspires Me: My seven-year-old niece (Sophia), and her sense of wonder, inspire me. She enjoys putting bugs from the backyard under a microscope; she’s propelled to learn.
  • Most useful article you’ve read in the last month: Pew Research Center’s “Experts Doubt Ethical AI Design Will Be Broadly Adopted as the Norm Within a Decade”

I’d read the article to prepare for a recent talk I gave on Ethical AI/ML. AI/ML is an exciting technology that still leaves me feeling cautiously optimistic sometimes. I cheer on advancements in healthcare and business; simultaneously, I worry about the accountability associated with a self-driving car speeding away from a police car (referencing a video that went viral two months previously).

We’re in a predicament where technology outpaces law. It will be interesting to see how businesses navigate the technical and ethical challenges.

  • When you were a kid what was your dream job? I wanted to be a lawyer. I am not sure why. I’m glad I did not become a lawyer because it doesn’t suit my personality.
  • Tell us something about your session: My session will briefly review how AI is helping to train elite eSports teams worldwide — and mention AI’s shortcomings. Because AI requires fast decision-making, agility, and skill, AI can never replace a human being. We’ll talk about AI’s shortcomings in gaming.
  • What other sessions or speakers are you most excited to see? I am excited to support my fellow UX-ers Lauren Giacobbo “Setting a Collaborative vision — UX, Dev and Product: Brainstorm facilitation and analysis” and Katie Gatto’s “UX Writing: Creating Effective Microcopy.” Also, I am excited to build on my blockchain skills with Kate Baucherel’s “Blockchain and crypto explained in thirty minutes” talk.

Hear from Alley and all the other amazing women in tech speaking at WITS Fall 2022 Virtual Summit on October 20 & 21 by registering here!

--

--

Women In Tech Summit

The Women In Tech Summit inspires, educates and connects women in the technology industry. We support @techgirlzorg and all women in tech.